What do these composers have in common?

Percy Grainer

You are invited…

Henry Cowell

Phil Collins

Percy Grainger & Henry Cowell

Lou Harrison

Young Lou Harrison

CONCERT I — Secret Lives of a Piano

Sunday, 3pm, September 8, 2019
: Private Residence
Sponsored by Hill Guitar Company 

Advance tickets only; location of, and directions to, included with advance ticket purchase
No tickets sold on the day of concert.

Sarah Cahill, pianist

Steinway Concert Grand, Model D (b. July 29, 1868; NY)

Steinway upgrade: Russell Brown

Sarah Cahill, celebrated interpreter of American music, performs an intimate house recital on a legendary Steinway, Model D, nine-foot grand piano, made in 1868.

The program is devoted to solo piano works by the four composers who have owned this recently upgraded instrument.

  • Percy Grainger (1882-1961)
  • Henry Cowell (1897-1965)
  • Lou Harrison (1917-2003)
  • Phil Collins (b. 1951)

The repertoire (subject to change)

Percy Grainger (1882-1961)

Scotch Strathspey and Reel
Now O Now I Needs Must Part (after John Dowland) (1935)
Shepherd’s Hey (1913)

 Henry Cowell (1897-1965)

The Tides of Manaunaun (1912)
Tiger (1928)
High Color (1938)

 Lou Harrison (1917-2003)

Largo Ostinato(1937)
Jig (1939)
Two Cembalo Sonatas (1943)
Tandy’s Tango(1992)

Phil Collins (b. 1951.

        Springing (2010)

Complimentary Hors d’oeuvres by Chocolate Restaurant